Book Review: In a New York Minute by Kate Spencer

In a New York Minute

Author: Kate Spencer
Publisher: Forever (March 15, 2022)
Kindle edition, 304 pages
Romance, Adult Contemporary Romance
Goodreads

Summary

A clever, tender, and romantic novel for readers of Christina Lauren, Jasmine Guillory, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen…In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?

Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I spent a good chunk of this book smiling like a doofus. This needs to be adapted into a movie, and would make a great rom-com that would be so fun to watch unfold on the big screen.

The chemistry between Franny and Hayes is so cute and awkward, and is a lovely slow burn that’s more a simmer than a scorching inferno. I can’t QUITE call it closed door, but it’s definitely not blatantly steamy either. It’s more of a cozy sort of heat, and I think that those who prefer closed door romances will like this one.

As much as I love Franny and Hayes, their best friends are a huge plus for this book as well. These side characters are so compelling, and I’d really like Lola’s book, haha. As much as any of the actual characters, New York City itself is really a character in this book. The world-building (can you still call it that if it’s a real place?) is so rich, I’ve never been to New York but I felt like I was there.

This is Kate Spencer’s debut romance novel, and I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next. 🙂

A digital ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for review. All opinions are unbiased and my own.

One thought on “Book Review: In a New York Minute by Kate Spencer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.